Simply…Flan : Coconut Rum : Agave Nectar

IMG_4890

I don’t know much about making desserts, I really gotta work on that, the thing is, I’m not crazy about sugar either, not a huge fan of chocolate unless it is nicely sweetened, I do love ice creams, sorbets, sherbets, and custards, and most definitely  flan which is basically a custard. Making  it is pretty easy and quick, it does require to be cooked in a water bath (bain marie) which isn’t really that tricky and a great skill to learn, an oven proof container that can fit the little ramekins, some water, 350 degrees in the oven for about half hour. I usually use condensed milk and coconut milk but I had neither at hand. The beauty about eggs, they are extremely easy going, a custard is delicate, flans are very delicate and rich. For this flan recipe I used coconut flavored rum, heavy cream and agave nectar, I’ll do my best to give quantities, today I wasn’t interested in precise measurements so didn’t take note…cough… more like I was very tired and proper blogging wasn’t gonna happen, I eyeballed ingredients and cooking times… my apologies!

Gear:

sauce pan
hand mixer
mixing bowl
3 small custard dishes
3 small plates
big baking dish for the bain marie
oven hot at 350f

Ingredients:

custard:
4 large eggs
1 egg yolk
1/3 cup agave nectar
1/3 cup heavy cream
3 tbsp coconut flavored rum

Sugar Syrup:
4 tbsp sugar
4 tbsp water

IMG_4872

Method:

01: beat eggs, yolk, agave, cream and rum with hand mixer
02: let rest, you don’t want to many bubbles in the mix

03: in a sauce pan mix sugar and water and bring to a boil
04: let the mix caramelize to a deep amber color
05: add more water if needed. Be careful, syrup can super hot
06: if adding more water, let syrup cool for a couple of minutes
07: add about a tsp of syrup to each custard dish, ramekin
08: let cool a bit, and then add the custard mix to each dish
09: fill each 3/4 of the way, the flan will rise a bit
10: place custar dishes in baking dish, fill with water 1/2 way
11: place bain marie in oven and bake for … ~30 minutes
12: I check every 10 mins and shake the dish until i see custard is set
13: let bake a little bit longer, top will caramelize a bit
14: remove from the oven
15: let cool.
16: with a silicon spatula separate the sides of the flan from dish
17: the flan will detach from the dish if flipped onto a plate
18: refrigerate plates until cold, serve.

done!