Spice Blend Recipes : Garam Masala : Talk about amazing aromas

IMG_5042

I have been cooking without too many spices for a long time. I tend to rely more on herbs and seasoning, salt, pepper, I could venture out and use some paprika, love saffron, but have never been big on turmeric or curry for example. The other day I was preparing a dish of south asian origin, a dish that featured pilaf and lamb (I will be posting this soon) and I came across this spice blend, garam masala, which you can get at the store or you can mix it yourself at home, which I really recommend to get the whole experience of toasting seeds, and smelling the amazing aromas. The flavor was wonderful as well. I’m more open to spices these days but still try to be careful not to use them in a way that they could cloud or overwhelm my dish or the person it. 

Gear:

Mortar or Spice blender (I use a tiny food processor that works miracles)

Ingredients:

3 Tb. coriander seeds
3 Tb. cumin seeds
4 tsp. peppercorns
2 pieces dried ginger
1 Tb. green cardamom pods
3 whole star anise
2 tsp. cloves
2 cinnamon sticks
2 bay leaves
1 whole (small) nutmeg

IMG_5045

Method:

01: place all the spices on a skillet and roast until fragrant 2 mins
02: pulverize spices in a spice blender
03: reserve

Makes plenty, store in a cool dark place or in the fridge, enjoy!!!!