Steak and Eggs : Poached Egg : Sous Vide Sirloin Tip 53.3C 24h : Red Chimichurri

IMG_9230

Isn’t frosted flakes the best thing in the world? It has to be, followed closely by steak and eggs. I can’t think of a better breakfast treat. I love this stuff. I love rare meat and runny eggs… yep. This is basically what I did here today. My take on Steak and Eggs. Bloody sirloin tip, a poached egg, and a drizzle of homemade chimichurri sauce. What can I say, I felt like treating myself today, deal with it.

IMG_9218

 

Ingredients (serves a selfish one person):

Sous vide tip sirloin… see recipe here.

Poached Egg:

1 egg
some white wine vinegar.

Red Chimichurri Sauce:

1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon crushed red chili flakes
1 1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1/2 bundle cilantro
1 bundle parsley
1 red bell pepper, seeds and pitch removed
2 green onions, trimmed
6 cloves garlic, peeled
1/3 cup red wine vinegar
IMG_9228
For the steak. Follow the instructions on that post. For awesome results, allow to rest in the fridge overnight.
The eggs. Boil some water, add a splash of white wine vinegar, crack one egg, place the yolk and white into a small bowl and gently deposit the whole thing into the boiling water. Allow to cook for about 4 mins. Remove and plate immediately.  Eggs don’t wait.
Chimichurri sauce. Combine all the ingredients. Place in a blender. Blend until smooth. Reserve. Chimichurri sauce is best the next day.
Plating this thing. Super easy. Meat first. Then Egg. Then chimichurri sauce. Slice the yolk open with a sharp knife. Oh, I crumbled a water cracker too.  You’re done. Enjoy.
 IMG_9210